A review: Lifestyle Bakery Soft ‘n’ Light gluten-free bread

Thursday, February 7, 2013 Permalink

After my moan several months ago about changes to my favourite gluten-free bread, I was contacted by Lifestyle Bakery asking if I’d like to try some products from their new gluten-free (GF) Soft ‘n’ Light range.

Screen shot 2013-02-07 at 12.58.17 PM

Always willing to try anything keen to do the best by my fellow coeliacs, I agreed.

Unfortunately the delivery of my bread was delayed because of flooding here in Queensland and the fact that my hometown was cut-off for almost one week.

Nevertheless, on arrival the bread was – as promised – soft and light.

Those who’ve never tried GF bread won’t understand the dilemma faced by bread-loving coeliacs. Indeed, I’m sure many fellow coeliacs, or those using GF breads, would have endured their fair share of cardboard-like bread which breaks rather than bends!

I was fortunate enough to receive the White, Soy Linseed, Chia & Quinoa bread from the bakery’s new Soft ‘n’ Light range as well as GF breadcrumbs. (I don’t ‘do’ fruit in bread… just in case you’re wondering!)

I have to admit, this was the first time since my coeliac diagnosis (ie. for 6-7 years) that I’d used breadcrumbs. Yes, yes I know… But no one had handed them to me on a platter before, and I’d actually forgotten what it was like to use them! I coated some fish the night after they arrived and was excited by their lovely texture and delicious crunchiness. (No, I cannot understand why I’m not a much-sought-after food blogger either!!!)

Unlike my previous favourite GF bread and its diabolical change of packaging into a straightjacket which cannot be reused once opened; Lifestyle Bakery bread comes in the usual bags (with the bread ties) and inside of that, the bread is vacuum sealed – described as modified atmosphere packaging – aimed to keep the bread fresher.

So, I simply broke open the straightjacket modified atmosphere packaging and put the bread in the outer bag to store in my freezer. Just like normal people non-coeliacs do.

eggsBecause I was keen to try everything at once I decided to start with both the Soy Linseed and Chia & Quinoa; a slice of each playing host to my scrambled eggs. (Plus I’d never seen chia or quinoa used in bread before, so was keen to see what it tasted like!)

I enjoyed the taste of both and – surprisingly – it was easy to tell the difference between the two.  (I’d worried I should have marked them in some way to assist my discerning palate in identifying which was which!)

Although like most GF bread, the slices are small, the Soft ‘n’ Light bread is indeed soft and fresh, even after retrieving it from the freezer and defrosting it.

The Soy Linseed and Chia & Quinoa breads, in particular, have a lovely texture and are especially yummy.

And… I guess (if I HAVE to) accept the need for the new straightjacket modified atmosphere packaging, I like that Lifestyle Bakery bread ALSO comes with the bag and tag to use once the straightjacket modified atmosphere packing is torn open.

toasted breadMy only suggestion would be to separate the bread as you put it in the bag as once frozen I found the bread really hard to separate. (I have a habit of getting two pieces out at a time for my breakfast each day!)

Unsurprisingly it isn’t as nice as the bread rolls I’ve discovered in a bakery in my childhood hometown (which only bakes pre-ordered GF stuff on a Tuesday!!) or a café I used to frequent in Brisbane (though they charged me $2.50/slice); but the new Soft ‘n’ Light bread is significantly softer and tastier than most GF breads I’ve tried.

Lifestyle Bakery has been around for over 10 years. Other GF products offered include pizza bases and breadrolls, in addition to other product ranges: sprouted grain; wheat alternative; and healthy living. Lifestyle Bakery is based in South Australia, but supply products to a range of retailers around Australia and Singapore. Oh, and I saw the breadcrumbs at a Coles supermarket here in Oz.

Disclaimer:
I was provided with Lifestyle Bakery Soft ‘n’ Light bread with no expectation of a favourable review. There has been no compensation or other incentive offered to write about the products. All opinions expressed in this space are mine, written with the objective of giving readers my personal opinion.

 

Have you ever tried gluten-free bread? Was it edible?
Non Aussies who are gluten-free, what do you look for in a GF bread?
Do you ‘do’ fruit in products, or is it only me that has that possibly strange aversion?

Today I’m linking up with Blogs & PR’s Talk to us Thursday!

16 Comments
  • Char
    February 7, 2013

    I just clicked on the link and found out they sell it just up the road from me. Score! I might just have to pop up to Mrs Flannery’s and buy some.

    • Debbish
      February 7, 2013

      Score Char! They also make the other products I mentioned. Not sure if I’ve seen the pizza bases, but they appeal as well!

  • Annaleis from Teapots and Tractors
    February 7, 2013

    This is nice to know they are creating bread that you will actually enjoy. I don’t do fruit in bread too!

    Thanks for linking up,

    Annaleis – Blogs and PR Team Member

    • Debbish
      February 7, 2013

      Yes, I can’t do dried fruit IN things. I don’t mind sultanas, but can’t eat them in cake, bread or cereal etc!

  • Lou Lou
    February 7, 2013

    Never tried GF bread but I am glad you’ve found some you like. I too, am a fan of good packaging.

    • Debbish
      February 7, 2013

      I’m lucky Lou Lou as I was never a huge bread eater, but it’s one of the biggest complaints you hear from coeliacs and newly-diagnosed coeliacs… the difficulty finding good bread!

  • Emma
    February 7, 2013

    Sounds pretty good. I made a friend of mine a gluten free cake whicg turned into a rock 🙁 Next time I’ll make sandwiches! Catching up with Talk to Us Thursday!

    • Debbish
      February 7, 2013

      Yes Emma and thanks for dropping by, you now know that sandwiches are an option! I haven’t actually tried to do a lot of baking I must confess. I leave that to the experts!

      Deb

  • Jess
    February 8, 2013

    I have tried gf bread and found it to be indelible!!! This sounds like it could actually be enjoyed.

    • Debbish
      February 8, 2013

      Yes Jess… the trick is finding one you like and sticking to it!

  • Nikki @ Styling You
    February 8, 2013

    So need to get on to these!

    • Debbish
      February 9, 2013

      Yes Nik! The bakery I mention in Mbro is the Bell Hilltop Bakery. VERY yummy bread rolls (the bread seems to have a lot of holes?!), but only on a Tuesday.

  • JUDI
    February 14, 2013

    Having trouble finding fresh GFree bread…one that you don’t have to toast and doesn’t fall apart.

    • Debbish
      February 14, 2013

      I don’t think those who’ve never tried GF bread really understand how frustrating it is! I’m lucky in that I was never a big bread eater… but pity those who were!

  • Trish
    August 13, 2015

    Do you have any idea where it is made and where the ingredients are from? There’s nothing on the package except “100% Australian owned” I got sucked in by Daily Bread – it’s made in Ireland!!

    • Debbish
      August 14, 2015

      I’m not sure Trish. I’ll see if I can find some contact info and look into it for you.

I'd love to hear your thoughts