Weekly check-in

Sunday, July 10, 2016 Permalink

Firstly… the most important news…. I ONLY NEED TO KEEP MY APARTMENT TIDY FOR ONE MORE WEEK! For those not playing along at home, my place has been on the market for 11 weeks. I have a 12 week contract with my Real Estate Agent and always planned – if it hadn’t sold – to pull it off after that, as there’s nothing worse than a place with a For Sale sign for months and months on end.

The sign's up!

That means my place will no longer need to be ‘visitor-ready’. I can again put things on surfaces. My toothbrush can come out from under the bathroom cupboard. My dish-drainer can be reinstalled next to the sink. I can leave home each morning without making sure I’ve made my bed and hidden my underwear in the bottom of my laundry basket.

But enough about the state of my apartment and onto more important matters…

What I read

It took me several nights, but I ploughed through The House Between Tides by Sarah Maine. Then came The Sister by Louise Jensen and finally Karin Slaughter’s upcoming release, The Kept Woman which is the latest in the Will Trent / Sara Linton series.

the sister

What I wrote

I had a better week on the blog and shared a number of book reviews:

The Woman in Cabin 10 by Ruth Ware – Agatha Christie / Alfred Hitchcock-esque
The Twisted Knot by JM Peace – a realistic police procedural set in a small Australian town
The House Between Tides by Sarah Maine – a slow yet enjoyable read set in dual timeframes

I launched a competition on my blog for Aussie-based readers to win a copy of Out of Orange, A Memoir by Cleary Wolters.

out of orange - a memoir

And I wrote a post about hospital couture. #asyoudo

What I did

Other than work I can’t recall what I got up to. WTF do I do with my days I ask you?! Of course I can account for my nights cos that’s when I read and watch TV.

Speaking of which, I’m watching iZombie which has finally made it to our free-to-air channels and am REALLY enjoying it. I can’t help but wonder what else I’ve missed?!

izombie

What I plan to do

Next on my agenda is an Allison Winn Scotch book, In Twenty Years. It’s not my usual fare but I’ve followed her on social media for yonks and decided to take a chance.

in twenty years

I’m a little behind in my book reviewing but hope to catch up over the next day or so. I’m also slowly making my way through my published-in-June books before trying to actually read the July books as a priority, but it’s slow going as my TBR pile keeps growing.

What’s on your agenda for the next week or so?

I’m again linking up with Deep Fried Fruit, the Caffeinated Book Reviewer and The Book Date.

70 Comments
  • Denyse Whelan
    July 10, 2016

    Oh I cannot believe it is 3 months (nearly) since the sign went up. Good to know you are going to stick to your plan. See what Spring/Summer brings maybe? I do hope the hospital visit (euphemism) is OK. Pretty daunting when you have not ever been before. Thinking of you. D xx

    • Debbish
      July 10, 2016

      Thanks Denyse. I’ve given my mother information about cryogenic freezing in case something happens – though she laughs it off when I explain I want to be cryogenically frozen. Perhaps I need to change my will. I wonder if a Facebook statement (Last Will and Testament) would suffice 😉

      Ha! Is only minor surgery so I think it’ll all be fine. I’m just hoping I get my own room!

  • Stormi D Johnson
    July 10, 2016

    To bad your place didn’t sell, or is that a good thing? Hope you have a great reading week this week! 🙂

    Stormi

    • Debbish
      July 10, 2016

      I have to admit I’m less desperate to sell than I was 3mths ago Stormi. I suspect it’s because I haven’t been there as much lately and have had other things on my mind. I also left the Body Corporate Committee and we’re employing new managers who – I think – will make a difference.

  • charliegirlteachergirl
    July 10, 2016

    Has it been that long already? Wow. I hate having to keep things clean like that. Even if my friend was coming over, I’d go full-cleaning mode on the house and make sure everything was put away. She literally has a zoo at her house – like she cares! After two years in my little place, though, I’ve gotten pretty lax. I hope your hospital stay went well.

    • Debbish
      July 10, 2016

      Oh I’m seriously over the ‘keeping the place tidy’ thing. Yesterday my RE Agent had cancelled the Open House (second last one) as he had other commitments, but then he called saying someone wanted to come and have a look. I’d started packing for my hospital stay next week AND had stuff scattered everywhere because I ‘thought’ I had a sure 4 days of no potential buyers!

      I’m looking forward to being able to leave my shampoo and conditioner out beside the bath and bed unmade etc…

  • maxtheunicorn
    July 10, 2016

    I’ve been meaning to check out iZombie! I finally got a chance to watch some Netflix last night and it was both fun and relaxing. I’m off to check out your linked giveaway now!

    • Debbish
      July 10, 2016

      It’s been on GO! (I think) for a few weeks now. Initially double episodes so we’ve pretty much raced through the season. I am seriously surprised at how much I’ve loved it!

  • Greg
    July 10, 2016

    Well that’s nice you don’t have to be in constant show mode after another week. I’m surprised someone hasn’t snapped that place up frankly with that view- always love your pics! And a review of The Woman in Cabin 10- have to go read that. I have that one coming up and I can’t wait! 🙂

    • Debbish
      July 10, 2016

      The market’s pretty depressed here at the moment Greg. I don’t think it’s overpriced as I’m basing it on the price one of the other 2 bedroom ones got in the complex last year. There’s been a bit more interest lately (school holidays so more people in town) so we’ll see.

  • Sydney Shop Girl
    July 10, 2016

    Yay for an end to the apartment home opens!!!!!

    SSG xxx

  • seizetheday20
    July 10, 2016

    Sorry to hear your unit hasn’t sold, but at least you won’t have to hide all your personal stuff and keep things ultra-tidy for the time being – that’s a bonus! 🙂

    • Debbish
      July 10, 2016

      Oh absolutely. I keep stuff for my desk hidden in a bin under the desk and so never have pens on hand or anything!

  • Kooky Chic
    July 10, 2016

    Your apartment will probably sell this week but how has it not sold with a view like that?

    • Debbish
      July 11, 2016

      The next couple of weeks will be difficult for me as I’ll be in hospital and then away… so if it’s gonna sell, it’ll be next week (the worst possible time). #Murphyslaw

  • Literary Feline
    July 10, 2016

    It will be a relief to be able to feel free to live in your apartment again, although I am sorry to hear it hasn’t sold. Even if we wanted to move, I can’t keep my house tidy for more than a day with my five year old and husband around.

    I am curious about Woman in Cabin 10, having just finished her other book, In a Dark, Dark Wood. I can’t say any of the characters in that one particularly won me over, but it was an enjoyable listen (I listened to the audio). I’ve heard Woman in Cabin 10 compared to Agatha Christie before–so you aren’t alone.

    I am glad you are enjoying iZombie. I liked what I saw of it, which was only a handful of episodes. I need to get back to it.

    I hope you have a great week! My mom will be in town in another couple days. I’m sure she’ll have a nice visit. 🙂 Take care!

    • Debbish
      July 11, 2016

      Enjoy the rest of your mother’s visit, I’m sure she’s loving the time with you.

      And I’ve heard good things about Ruth Ware’s other book so perhaps I’ll try it. But the characters were the main reason I didn’t get into The Woman in Cabin 10. I just really didn’t care about any of them in the end! :-/

  • Kristen @ Metaphors and Moonlight
    July 10, 2016

    Ok wow, that does sound like a lot of work having your apartment up for sale and having people come to see it.

    I’ve not seen the iZombie show, but I read the graphic novels. I think I read somewhere that they’re pretty different though, like the plot at least. I did enjoy the graphic novels though!

    Good luck catching up on your book reviews and have a great week!

    • Debbish
      July 11, 2016

      I wondered about the graphic novels Kristen cos the TV show morphs into graphic novels in various places (as it goes to an ad break etc). Complete with caption.

  • fuonlyknew
    July 10, 2016

    I did that before. Had to have my place ready for showing. It was a relief to have a break from it. Hopefully, if you try again, it will sell quickly. Such a lovely view:)

    My Sunday Post

    • Debbish
      July 11, 2016

      Actually that happened to me last time Laura. I had it on the market for 3mths and nothing really happened. A year later I put it on when I was moving and it sold in the first couple of days!

  • Christy LoveOfBooks
    July 10, 2016

    What a pain that must be to keep your apt like that. Glad you’ll be free of it soon, though. YES! iZombie is so good, and the 2nd season is even better. Glad you get to watch it. Have a great week!

    • Debbish
      July 11, 2016

      Oh, now you’ve got me looking forward to season 2. Season 1 must be nearly finished here – I must check IMDb so I’m prepared as there’s nothing worse than a show you’re enjoying finishing for a lengthy break when you’ve got no idea it’s about to happen!

  • Annemieke
    July 10, 2016

    Oh not having to think about if you have everything super neat will probably feel so good. I’d worry throughout the day if I put that or that away, haha. I’m sorry your house didn’t sell though.

    • Debbish
      July 11, 2016

      My agent hasn’t been hugely proactive and until last week only had 1 person through at a time other than the Open House. As a result I’d started to get lazy about making my bed etc and he called one day last week saying someone wanted to come through and I stressed about what I’d left out etc…

  • Maureen Beatrice
    July 10, 2016

    LOL!! It sounds like a huge achievement keeping your house clean and tidy all time. We would totally suck at it. Especially on those early moments before work.. So congrats!! 😉
    I can’t wait to read the new book by Karin Slaughter. I love that series, and I love Will Trent!
    This week will all be about working ahead on my blogging posts for me. I would love to have some posts ready to go, instead of making the post the day before it gets published.

    • Debbish
      July 11, 2016

      I’m off to hospital for a few days and so today I need to catch up on my reviews, but it will only mean one – two posts up my sleeve as one of the books I started reviewing but left isn’t being published for a while…. but I REALLY need to finish that review!

  • sjhigbee
    July 10, 2016

    DULL WOMEN HAVE IMMACULATE HOUSES – I had that sign hung over my kitchen door for a number of years and would point it out to those more houseproud members of the family (all of them) as they gingerly ventured over the step. It must have been a real strain having to keep it all straight – but for me… the thing that always had me grinding my teeth to powder every time I’ve had to put my house of the market – is that someone, a stranger, can come marching through my TERRITORY. I HATED that bit. I think you’re very wise to give yourself a break from it:). Fingers crossed for the hospital stay. Glad the blog went well and hope you can enjoy it during your recuperation. Take care and have a good week. https://sjhigbee.wordpress.com/2016/07/10/sunday-post-10th-july/

    • Debbish
      July 11, 2016

      I don’t really mind that bit I have to admit. I de-personalised my place a bit beforehand though (removed photos and some trinkets etc). My place is still very ‘me’ but as long as I don’t leave bits of myself (I don’t want others to see) lying out I’m kinda comfortable.

  • Melissa's Eclectic Bookshelf
    July 10, 2016

    Oh, sorry it didn’t sell…we’ve been thinking about looking for something but it’s so hard when you have something to sell first!

    Enjoy In Twenty Years! It looks good and I’ve been thinking about picking it up!

    • Debbish
      July 11, 2016

      Ultimately I’m okay about it not selling Melissa. I hated being here when I put it on the market. I’m not sure the situation has improved but I’m off the body corporate so dealing with less of the angst. I think if I’d found a place I wanted to buy I would have been more disappointed it didn’t sell.

  • Heather Duff (@hross42)
    July 10, 2016

    It seems like just last week your apartment when on the market. I hated having to keep my old house tidy all the time, it took a lot longer than 12 weeks to sell as well!!

    I’m on holiday this week and the weather looks warmish!

    Have a great week!

    • Debbish
      July 11, 2016

      Glad the weather’s looking good for you Heather. Hope you get some reading time in though!

      The penthouse in my complex has been on the market since I bought my place here (so about 4yrs). They want an astronomical amount of money for it so I’d be surprised if it ever sells.

  • laurelrainsnow
    July 11, 2016

    Oh, wow, there is nothing worse than being “visitor ready” at all times. When mine was on the market, I also had to declutter, so I had twenty boxes of packed trinkets in a guesthouse closet.

    But I kept going until it sold. Excruciating months. At first, it “sold” right away, but fell out of escrow when the clients’ financing fell through. How can that be, I wondered? Don’t they check into that before starting escrow?

    Anyway…it took NINE months to finally sell…and then I downsized to a rental condo. I can’t imagine going through that whole selling thing again. And the managers here fix things that break…lol.

    I can’t wait to get The Kept Woman…and I loved Out of Orange. Interesting perspective, right?

    Thanks for visiting my blog, and enjoy your week.

    • Debbish
      July 11, 2016

      I downsized to move here Laurel but now want to upsize a little. I think! I’ve stored some stuff at a relation’s (with a large shed) and have some boxes stuffed in cupboards etc… but I’d had to cull a lot of stuff last time I moved.

      Glad you liked Out of Orange… not my kind of book (ie non fiction!) but a few people have entered the comp on my blog!

  • Katherine @ I Wish I Lived in a Library
    July 11, 2016

    I knew someone who was homeschooling 2 boys and had her house on the market. At least 2 or 3 times a week she had to stop mid-lesson, put up all the school stuff and get the kids out of the house in about 15 minutes. Just thinking about it gives me hives! I can’t imagine how good it will feel to not have to keep everything ready to show at all times. Hopefully things are a little better condo-wise? Have a great week!

    • Debbish
      July 11, 2016

      Oh that would be terrible Katherine. I’m actually pretty tidy (hate clutter) so it’s never too bad, and I live alone so it’s only my stuff I need to tidy. And I have a bit of a routine where I clear most of the kitchen stuff before I go to bed so there’s less to do before work. And I do my bathroom stuff in the morning and shove my iPad etc away. Luckily my second bathroom, bedroom and entrance hall just stay untouched!

  • Angelized1st
    July 11, 2016

    Hopefully this will be the week you sell. Having to live in a place, while keeping it un-lived in must be the worst! Have a great week!

    • Debbish
      July 11, 2016

      A few people have told me that their places actually sold when they have people through when it was in disarray. Someone at work suggested people can relate to it a bit more. I haven’t been game to try that but must admit I’m less anxious than I first was. I stopped buying flowers for the Open Houses in week 3 (cos there was rarely anyone coming through) and sometimes now I don’t even vacuum just beforehand!

  • Rita @ View From My Books
    July 11, 2016

    We now rent homes– for several years at a time if we want– because we got burned 2x with having homes that took a very looooong time to sell. It was torture when the kids were younger and the pets were more lively… to have to keep my home spotless, plus go to work, etc. Ugh! We are getting older and won’t buy anymore unless it is absolutely certain to be our forever home and we plan on sticking there to the bitter end, lol. Good luck in the future though for you, if you aren’t happy with where you are.

    I can’t wait for Karin Slaughter’s new Will Trent book. I love the series and have read (binge-read) every book of hers since the first Grant County. Even though I profess to be stepping away from more graphic violence in my books, and hers has that, she writes so well that it is a necessary part of the plot.

    Have a great week!

    • Debbish
      July 11, 2016

      I didn’t realise until I started this book that I’d missed the last in the Will Trent series Rita (and it was in 2013) so a long break…..

      If my place sold suddenly I think I’d rent for a while as I’ve not found anything I’d like to buy.

  • Leanne @ Deep Fried Fruit
    July 11, 2016

    OOooh, I soooo want to enter that comp. Hope I’m not too late!
    As for the house … I guess it’s a mix of both relief and disappointment? It will be nice to have your HOME back rather than just living in an house …
    Thanks for joining the Lovin’ Life Linky.

    • Debbish
      July 11, 2016

      It’s not too late to enter the competition Leanne. It’s open until this Friday!

  • Char
    July 11, 2016

    Ughh – selling real estate is such an ordeal. That’s why I fully intend to stay in this house until I have rigor mortis.. My niece is selling at the moment after just having her fourth baby. Trying to keep a house tidy when you’ve got a newborn and two year old twins and a caesarean wound to deal with is my idea of a nightmare.

    • Debbish
      July 11, 2016

      Oh I can’t imagine how she copes Char. It’s bad enough just cleaning up after myself constantly and remembering what footprints / traces I’ve left!

  • Vanessa
    July 11, 2016

    Are you happy or sad that your place hasn’t sold yet?

    • Debbish
      July 11, 2016

      I’m actually not sure Vanessa. Initially I just wanted out. I don’t feel as desperate, possibly because I’m off the body corp committee so see less of the stuff they’re dealing with; also I’ve spent a lot of time at my mother’s (away from the person who annoys me); and I’ve had some other stuff on my plate so haven’t really felt very ‘engaged’ while home, if that makes sense. Also I’ve seen nothing I desperately want to buy, so don’t feel as time pressures.

  • Bea @Bea's Book Nook
    July 11, 2016

    I don’t know whether to be happy or sad that your place hasn’t sold but it will be nice when you don’t have to stress over keeping it neat. Happy reading and have a good week!

  • Lark @ The Bookwyrm's Hoard
    July 11, 2016

    I can’t imagine trying to get our house ready to sell — I’d have to take two weeks off and rent a dumpster! So kudos to you for not only getting it ready, but keeping it looking nice for prospective buyers. I hope you have a good week and get plenty of time to read!

    • Debbish
      July 11, 2016

      Oh yes, it took me a while to prepare it for sale – which was a bit stressful – but feels like a lifetime ago now!

  • Melinda
    July 11, 2016

    Good luck with your last week of “model living.” I always told my husband that if/when we move, we have to buy a house, move in, and then sell our current place vacant–because there is NO WAY I can keep it that clean!

    • Debbish
      July 11, 2016

      I contemplated the same thing part-way through Melinda – moving out and having the apartment vacant (perhaps more appealing).

  • Kathryn
    July 11, 2016

    Ah well looks like you are going to be watching the view from your windows awhile longer! I read one book by Alilson Winn Scotch and didn’t like it but heaps of readers raved about it. Will be interested to see what you think of this one. In answer to your question on my blog – J. D. Robb books on audio are awesome.

    • Debbish
      July 11, 2016

      I enjoyed The Allison Winn Scotch novel and mostly cos I could relate to it!

  • Grace @ Rebel Mommy Book Blog
    July 11, 2016

    Boo to your place not selling but at least now you can live in it again. Getting a place ready to sell is the worst. Hope you have a great week and enjoy your next reads!

    • Debbish
      July 11, 2016

      Yes Grace, it will be nice to just relax again!

  • readerbuzz
    July 11, 2016

    I’ve only had to sell a house one time. The first people that looked at it knocked on the door, had a quick look, and said they wanted to buy it! Of course this was long ago, during a huge boom here in Texas. Maybe now you can relax a bit.

    http://readerbuzz.blogspot.com/2016/07/sitting-in-silence-for-world-and.html

    • Debbish
      July 11, 2016

      Oh that sounds ideal Deb. I’m not sure how different things would be if I my place had sold in the first few weeks!!!

  • Karen B (@KissinBlueKaren)
    July 11, 2016

    I can’t imagine having my house “visitor ready” for 1 week, let alone 12! Of course, I have a few messy roommates, but still. That would be crazy having to keep everything tidy. I am not sure what you were hoping for (to sell or not?) but I hope you get your wish.
    I can actually account for all of my time, but it still isn’t as productive as I want it to be. That’s sad. One day I will wake up and be 90 and it will be too late to take that walk I thought about or start exercising.
    I will be reading The Woman in Cabin 10 sometimes this week, since everyone voted it up on the Make Me Read It Read-A-Thon. I can’t wait! I hope you have a great week!

    • Debbish
      July 11, 2016

      I hope you enjoy The Woman in Cabin 10 Karen. I didn’t LOVE it but enjoyed it!

  • Jess
    July 11, 2016

    I bet it will be a huge relief to not have to keep it show ready!! I can’t even imagine!!

  • Nise' (Under the Boardwalk)
    July 12, 2016

    I’d have a hard time keeping everything neat and clean every day for 12 weeks! Although, I wonder if it would train me to pick up after myself.. I like the sound of the books you read last week. Hope this is a great week for you.

  • Addicted to Happily Ever After
    July 14, 2016

    YAY for a messy house!!!! And that view!! Why would you move??? Well, yeah, you do what you got to do but look, you get to stay in a messy house now!!! Who knows? Maybe something will still come up out of the blue.

    And I’m behind on writing reviews, too. I feel your pain. I’ve been sick for days and I’m just coming out of it 🙂

    • Debbish
      July 14, 2016

      I’m nearly there as well… though haven’t read anything this week which has kinda helped! 😉

  • toniazemek
    July 19, 2016

    I’m really keen to read that Out Of Orange – even though I’ve never seen the show. I know how you feel re: those inspections. How lovely to have your space back (without folk walking through each and every weekend). Enjoy

I'd love to hear your thoughts