Weekly check-in

Sunday, March 20, 2016 Permalink

Time again for my book reviewing and blogging update. And while it’s been a better week (for me, in general),Β it’s still ridiculously hot here in my part of Australia with 30+C temperatures. I mean… come on Autumn, lift your game! Or to quote a recentΒ Aussie tourism campaign fail… “Autumn, where the bloody hell are ya?”

What I read

I started the week with a bang and read Gilly Macmillan’s The Perfect Girl AND a new JD Robb novella, Wonderment in Death in just a couple of days.

I’m a huge fan of Robb’s In Death series so allowed the short story to jump the TBR pile queue!

I then read the latest Tania Carver, The Lost Girl; before finishing the week with Primary School Confidential by Mrs Woog. I’ll be reviewing the latter in the next day or two – in time for the book’s releaseΒ this week. For my non Australian readers, Mrs Woog pens the very popular Aussie blog, Woogsworld. Her book is laugh-out-loud funny and reminds me of the work of The Bloggess.

primary school confidential

What I wrote

Despite only having to work two days this past week I had a pretty quiet writing week. Though I finally got around to reviewing an audio book I’d been listening to for 23 years. (Okay, that is a slight exaggeration!)

The Hypnotist’s Love Story by Liane Moriarty (audiobook)
What She Never Told Me by Kate McQuaile

The Perfect Girl by Gilly Macmillan

What I did

I think I’m finally getting into a routine of sorts, but as I’m sleeping so poorly my non-working days are plagued by nanna naps. I need them at the time but realise they’re not helping me sleep at night. *sigh*

I had a lovely dinner out with friends this past week – at a little nearby bar and restaurant. The pic below is not actually of my drink / food, but that of a complete stranger who allowed me to borrow her food for photographic purposes! πŸ˜‰ #asyoudo

the vinyard

What I plan to read (and do)

I’m feeling a tad less stressed about my #TBR pile. Though that could also be because I’ve moved 8-9 books into a newly invented… “I’ll get to them if I have time” pile. Actually… looking at that acronym I might have to rethink it, as I’m not sure #IGTTIIHT will take off.

Other than the urgently-required JD Robb novella, I’ve not requested any electronic books for a couple of months now, and I only had 4 new arrivals last week, so… I’m approaching my reading regime a bit more realistically and my urge to ‘throw in the towel’ has dissipated somewhat.

books this week

This time next week I’ll be munching on some chocolate. I hope. I guess I should line up my mother to buy some for me… (I can’t do it myself as I will eat it before the big day!) My mother is a religious kinda person so she’s been off sweet stuff for Lent, so I’ll need to make sure I have a treat or two for her.

What’s on your reading (and life) agenda this week?
Do you celebrate Easter? With chocolate?Β 

As usual I’m linking up with Kimberly at The Caffeinated Reviewer and Kathryn at The Book Date.

64 Comments
  • danielaark
    March 20, 2016

    haha you threw me off with your “Autumn, where the bloody hell are ya?” “What is Debbie talking about??” until o course I remember our are actually in the southern hemisphere! πŸ™‚ So as I’m getting ready for spring you are getting ready for fall πŸ™‚
    I think it is hilarious that you borrow someone else’s food for a pic! LOL what did you have???
    I hope you sleep better this week Debbie!

    • Debbish
      March 20, 2016

      The girl’s drink was so pretty… I initially tried to surreptitiously take the photo but gave up and asked if I could sidle up next to her and take the photo!

  • Greg Hill
    March 20, 2016

    Still hot there huh? I’m looking forward to it heating up here, but of course I’ll be complaining before long once it does ha ha. The Perfect Girl sounds interesting, I’m curious about Zoe’s story, and I was glad to read your review of The Hypnotists Love Story as I’ve been debating whether to read more Liane Moriarty. I was thinking about that one or maybe What Alice Forgot.

    Looks like a great place for a meal, BTW. Nice pic. πŸ™‚

    Have a great week.

    • Debbish
      March 20, 2016

      THanks Greg. The only negative I have about The Hypnotist’s Love Story is that it was very long….

      PS. You won’t find me complaining about the cold as it doesn’t get very cold here. Others (further south) start to complain once it hits low single digits or zero degrees celcius but I’m happy to layer up!

  • charliegirlteachergirl
    March 20, 2016

    You should call it the “Meh” pile. I think it’s hilarious you took a photo of a complete stranger’s dinner. So glad you’ve finally finished that audiobook. It’s only been 23 years! haha I am having the same issue finishing my audiobook. This week I return back to work from spring break. My students are wrapping up their project based learning project, I have a dentist appointment, and it’s a 4-day work week! πŸ™‚ My family has always celebrated Easter, but in recent years all holidays have been rather dreary and minimalist after my maternal grandpa fell and broke his femur, and then my paternal grandfather passed the week before school started. I always have to call my mom and ask her what we are doing because I never know.

    • Debbish
      March 20, 2016

      I’m in my 40s and don’t have my own family so it’s usually just me and my mum in terms of celebrations nowadays too. It’s a short work week here but of course I never work Mondays or Fridays anyway so no different for me! πŸ˜‰

  • Annemieke
    March 20, 2016

    Naps aren’t too bad as long as they aren’t longer than 30 minutes. I hope you will start sleeping better though.

    • Debbish
      March 20, 2016

      Sadly I tend to pass out for about 2hrs for some of my nanna naps – if I’m sleeping badly at night. It’s a vicious circle though I realise!

  • Maree
    March 20, 2016

    It’s too warm here, too – I’m more than ready for cooler weather! Have a great week πŸ™‚

    • Debbish
      March 20, 2016

      I’m with you Maree and aching for cooler weather. I try to use my airconditioner as little as possible but have been having to still use it even though it’s Autumn and the worst of summer should be behind us!

  • Stormi D Johnson
    March 20, 2016

    I hope you have a great week and enjoy your new reads. πŸ™‚

    Stormi
    Week in Review

  • Addicted to Happily Ever After
    March 20, 2016

    I completely support JD Robb jumping ahead of EVERYTHING!!! I love those books, although I don’t get to read them anymore *sigh*. I will get back to that series someday, though!!!!

    I’m a little afraid of you + drinking + neighboring diners’ food, I’m not sure I can imagine how that conversation went – tee, hee!!!! Beautiful place to hang out!! Jealous!!

    And where the bloody hell is my Spring?!?!?! πŸ™‚

    • Debbish
      March 21, 2016

      Ha… the person was very accommodating Kristin… she even moved stuff about so I could get the photo. I tagged the place’s Facebook page when I posted it there, so perhaps she will see it!

      And yes, bring on your Spring and our Autumn!

  • Lexxie @ (un)Conventional Bookviews
    March 20, 2016

    I have an MROD shelf, Deb, (Might Read One Day) πŸ™‚ And it has so many books on it it makes me laugh when I see it on Goodreads.
    I’m glad you had a good week, even if you’re not sleeping too well. I think the naps can start a pretty vicious cycle sometimes, but oh, how I love taking a nap anyway!
    Your new books look great, and I hope you’ll enjoy them all. Have a wonderful week ahead and happy reading.

    • Debbish
      March 21, 2016

      Oh Lexxie… MROD (Mmm-rod) is a great acronym, so I’m gonna steal (ahem) borrow it if you don’t mind!

  • Katherine @ I Wish I Lived in a Library
    March 21, 2016

    I’m not a nap taker but there are definitely days I wish I was because I’m so miserably tired I can barely function. Sadly if I lay down for a nap I just end up staring at the ceiling. My husband however can sit down, close his eyes, and be asleep for exactly 20 minutes and then wake up refreshed. There are times I want to smother him. I love the drink and the look of the food! That’s hilarious that you took a picture of a strangers food! Easter is one of my favorite holidays because of the chocolate. I love Cadbury eggs – especially the caramel ones. Have a great week!

    • Debbish
      March 21, 2016

      I love the caramel eggs as well Katherine – they’re my favourite along with Red Tulip (which I think is just a cadbury brand). It just tastes different somehow! And I’m with you re Easter being a fave holiday. I’m like, ‘Christmas and plum puddings and turkey – meh’. It’s all about easter for me!!!

      Interestingly I hated the idea of naps as a kid but now… I sleep far better when I pass out for a nap than I do lying awake for 3-4hrs trying to get to sleep at night. (THough I do realise there’s some inverse relationship there!)

  • Rita @ View From My Home
    March 21, 2016

    Re:your weather…global warming, ’nuff said.

    I’m happy that you are relaxing more about your TBR pile and handling it realistically. If you can’t/don’t want to read a book, oh well. That happens. If too many books are coming in– well I don’t have this problem because I don’t get books from publishers except ones I choose from NG– but let them know you are busier in your life now and might not get to them in a timely fashion.

    Glad you relaxed with that dinner. The restaurant and food look just wonderful! Wish I was there.

    Okay, enough with books with Girl in the title! We get it, the aftermath of The Girl with the Dragon Tattoo. Except she was a woman, not a girl. Now Gone Girl, The Girl on the Train, The Lost Girl, The Perfect Girl… how would they like Gone Boy, lol πŸ™‚ Enjoy, Deb!

    • Debbish
      March 21, 2016

      I know what you mean about books with Girl in the title. On my desk at the moment I have The Perfect Girl and The Lost Girl!

  • laurelrainsnow
    March 21, 2016

    I tend to take those little naps, too, and it means I stay up later and later so that I can finally sleep again…LOL. If I took them right after lunch, it might be better…but usually I am falling asleep in the late afternoon…very bad!

    I have been sending more and more books I planned to read “back into the cloud.” I love that feature of my Paperwhite, which was harder to do on my first Kindle.

    I am so eager to get my hands on The Perfect Girl! I haven’t found it on NetGalley…must check again.

    Off now to read some of your reviews…enjoy your week, and thanks for visiting my blog.

    • Debbish
      March 21, 2016

      Ah yes, I got a hardcopy of The Perfect Girl, from Hachette Australia – who released it locally.

      I’m a bit like you in that I’m at my tiredest late afternoon and early evening. Sometimes I just want to lie down at 5pm and sleep for 12hrs. If I could I’d honestly do it!

  • Angelized1st
    March 21, 2016

    I don’t miss cold weather like that. Stay warm! At least you got to hang with friends, and have a good time despite the cold. I’ve been so tired, as well. Must be that time of year. Good luck with your TBR pile. I also need to read Far From True. Hope to start it today, but bought Glass Sword last night… LOL!

    • Debbish
      March 21, 2016

      Oh no… we’re the opposite here. It’s still summer so really really hot. So 30C is 86F apparently… so it’s been over that EVEN in Autumn. I usually get a nice breeze as I live on the beach, but that’s been AWOL of late!

  • Maureen Beatrice
    March 21, 2016

    I’m so jealous right now!! I looove JD Robb!! πŸ˜‰

    Sorry to hear about you sleeping poorly. That definitely messes up your routine!! I never have sleeping problems.. I can sleep whenever and wherever.. My boyfriend is always telling me I should be happy with this particular gift and I’m beginning to agree with him since I keep hearing about people with sleeping problems.

    We don’t celebrate Easter.. But chocolate on the other hand is a must.. Every day of the year really! LOL.

    Happy reading πŸ˜‰

    • Debbish
      March 21, 2016

      Oh Maureen I’m so envious of your sleeping habits. I have a bestie like that. She will lie down and just go to sleep and sleep for 8hrs. I’m usually fine once I get to sleep but it’s not unusual that it takes me hours and this year alone I’ve had several spates (weeks on end) when I don’t get to sleep until 2am or later.

  • Emma
    March 21, 2016

    I call my nana naps disco naps as I used to take them after going out the night before. They now happen minus the going out but it makes me feel better, like I can still party hearty. Am chuckling over fact you borrowed someone else’s food to photograph…did you know them at least? Have a good week!

    • Debbish
      March 21, 2016

      Nope, didn’t know the people. I thought the (asking a stranger for a pic thing) was perhaps a blogger thing, as the friend I was with used to blog and still instagrams etc… so we spent some time getting the ‘right’ photo. I don’t think the person at the nearby table thought I was too strange…. (Though perhaps they did and they’re telling all of their friends about this crazy woman!) πŸ™‚

  • Literary Feline
    March 21, 2016

    I hope you see cooler weather soon. Summer never likes to make it easy for fall to come our way each year. It always seems as if the heat lingers as long as it can here. I am really curious about Gilly Macmillan’s book, The Perfect Girl. I was glad to see you enjoyed it. I’ve found the same thing with naps for me too. I don’t know how my husband does it, taking three hour naps and then sleeping through the night. But then, he does stay up later than I do.

    I had planned to get all my Easter shopping done this weekend, but it didn’t happen. Chocolate is always big in our house, Easter or not. LOL

    Have a great week!

    • Debbish
      March 21, 2016

      As I said, my mum goes off chocolate and all sweet stuff for Lent each year so chocolate on Easter Sunday has always been a must in our house. Plus – as a kid – it was the only time I was allowed to eat chocolate for breakfast and all day. I always scoffed my eggs quickly whereas my brother eked his out for days and perhaps weeks!

  • Char
    March 21, 2016

    I like your newly invented acronym. I think I should adopt it and throw in stuff that I’m expected to do but don’t want to.- like the evening dinners and washing the laundry.

    • Debbish
      March 21, 2016

      Oh yes…. and work in general really! πŸ™‚

  • Laura Thomas
    March 21, 2016

    Yummy dinner. Sounds like you had fun. You’re wishing for fall and I’m crossing my fingers spring is here at last. LOL Our spring lasts about a week and then summer blasts us with humidity and steamy heat. I try not to complain as I’ve been praying for it all winter! Enjoy those new reads:)

    My Sunday Post

    • Debbish
      March 21, 2016

      Ah yes… I love our winters as it doesn’t get too cold (it snows in the south of the country but not where I live). A friend of mine moved back to Melbourne (in the south of the country) last year and was excited she was able to wear coats and tights again. Overcoats aren’t often required here – though it gets down to 40-50F at night so we do need jumpers (sweatshirts etc).

  • Tracy @ Cornerfolds
    March 21, 2016

    It’s so funny that it’s autumn there when spring just started here! The Lost Girl looks really interesting so I want to see your thoughts on that one! Enjoy your new books! πŸ˜€

    Here’s my Weekly Recap!

    • Debbish
      March 21, 2016

      Yes, I’ve got to do that review today Tracy… it’s nearly a week since I read it and I don’t want to forget it!

  • Kristen @ Metaphors and Moonlight
    March 21, 2016

    Hahahaha I love that you took a photo of a stranger’s food. And my family thinks I’m crazy when I take pictures of *my* food πŸ˜› It does look pretty and delicious though, so I can’t blame you. As for your IG-something pile lol, you could always just go with maybe TBR. Or TBR #2. Or secondary TBR. Or backup TBR. Far easier to remember, haha. Glad you’re feeling better about the reading/blogging situation though!

    • Debbish
      March 21, 2016

      I’m loving Lexxie’s M-ROD suggestion Kristen (Might Read One Day). I’ve added the dash for pronounciation purposes. Like J-Lo… πŸ™‚

  • Nise' (Under the Boardwalk)
    March 21, 2016

    If I could send you our cool weather, I would! I am so ready for warm, sunny weather. Love the M-ROD suggestion. I have lots of books to go on that shelf! But I don’t stress about it. We celebrate Easter by attending church and having dinner together as a family. My kids are adults and I still make them Easter baskets. They just hold things they need like gas cards, paper products, grocery cards, etc. Have a great week.

    • Debbish
      March 21, 2016

      Oh Nise’ are you telling me you don’t put chocolate in their baskets?! Am sure that’s something they ‘need’. πŸ˜‰

  • Christy LoveOfBooks
    March 21, 2016

    Lol you jacked someone’s food for a photo op. πŸ˜€ We don’t really have autumn where I live anymore. It’s been all wonky as the years go. Hope you have a great week.

    • Debbish
      March 21, 2016

      I have to admit I wouldn’t mind if we skipped Autumn and went straight to winter… as our winter is very pleasant!

  • Lindsey
    March 21, 2016

    Haha, the “If I Have Time” pile sounds all too familiar.

    Have a Happy Easter! We will go to church, have an egg hunt for the kids and dinner with the family, and of course, eat lots of chocolate!

    • Debbish
      March 21, 2016

      We didn’t really do the egg hunt when I was young. More of an American thing perhaps, though I think more do it now.

      You’ve reminded me I must check on my mother’s chocolate shopping!

  • Jess
    March 21, 2016

    This reminds me I need to get something organised for Easter for the kids. Life has been so busy with the girls starting school. I thought I’d have way more time! I like your idea of having a pile for books if you get around to them!

    • Debbish
      March 21, 2016

      They’re ones that don’t jump out at me but ones I hope to read down the track. I’m sure when I do there will be some I regret not reading earlier, but they’re all out already so I’m focusing on keeping up with the ones coming out now / soon!

  • Kathryn
    March 21, 2016

    Sounds like we are feeling similarly over the books we have to review. Ah I didn’t give up chocolate for Lent! So I am about to have a piece! But I am not big into Easter eggs etc, most of it has yuck chocolate!

    • Debbish
      March 21, 2016

      I actually like the Red Tulip chocolate we have here at Easter (not sure if it’s in NZ). For some reason it’s more delicious than usual cadbury’s etc…

  • admin
    March 21, 2016

    That food looks delicious πŸ™‚ The Steel Kiss sounds like an interesting book. I hope you enjoy your books this week.

    My It’s Monday! What Are You Reading? post.

    • Debbish
      March 21, 2016

      I haven’t read a Jeffrey Deaver for a while so am looking forward to it!

  • readerbuzz
    March 21, 2016

    Yes, excellent. Let’s re-pile our TBR into smaller, more manageable ones. With new, less guilt-inducing names. Excellent.

    http://readerbuzz.blogspot.com/2016/03/can-you-guess-how-many-books-i-read.html

    • Debbish
      March 22, 2016

      Better still Deb, I had a big reviewing effort yesterday and was able to move a pile (well 4) to my ‘read and reviewed’ list. Of course I’m yet to summarise them and add them to Goodreads, The Reading Room and Amazon x 2…. but I tend to do that in batches!

  • Myrthe
    March 22, 2016

    Oh! Send the hot weather over here. We haven’t really had a proper winter, and right now the 5 degree temps are just getting annoying.
    Have a great week!

  • Michelle Weaver (@pinkypoinker)
    March 22, 2016

    My step daughter is visiting over Easter and she’s right into chocolate. Me not so much. They need to make Easter eggs out of cheese. It dropped down to 17 degrees here at night but yes, the days are still warm. Not as bad as the North though πŸ˜‰

  • Myra GB
    March 22, 2016

    I think I have so many books in a similar pile (getting to them when I have the time pile). I can sympathize with the heat – same thing here in Singapore. πŸ™‚

    • Debbish
      March 22, 2016

      Ugh! Roll on winter for both of us then Myra!

  • Annika @ Hiding in Books
    March 23, 2016

    I LOVE the Bloggess so if you say Primary School Confidential reminds you of her I’m pretty excited for it!
    An ‘get to them if you have time’ pile sounds like a pretty awesome idea, actually. Maybe I need to implement that πŸ˜‰
    CHOCOLATE. I want some right now.
    Lovely post, Deborah!

    • Debbish
      March 23, 2016

      I’ve actually been on this ridiculous (low carb) thing for 10 days so would kill for chocolate. I have broken it twice in one day for potatoes (when out for dinner) but am attempting to last until Easter Sunday when I will ruin my efforts… and yes, I know that makes no sense.

      Mrs Woog can certainly spin a yarn Annika so you would probably enjoy it – it also offers a bit of a glimpse into Australian culture! I reviewed the book this week and very much enjoyed it.

  • Silver's Reviews
    March 23, 2016

    Awesome week all around for you.

    ENJOY this week.

    Elizabeth
    Silver’s Reviews
    My It’s Monday, What Are You Reading

  • Heather Duff (@hross42)
    March 25, 2016

    Yay for JD Robb, the woman can do no wrong!!

    I am currently off for a long weekend for Easter but I am not remotely religious but I will be indulging in a chocolate egg or two!

    • Debbish
      March 25, 2016

      Me too… Am only responding to this on Good Friday and counting sleeps until I can rip into that chocolate, as I’ve made an attempt FOR TWO WHOLE WEEKS – to be vaguely healthy!

  • jsamuelsen
    March 28, 2016

    The Perfect Girl looks good.

I'd love to hear your thoughts