Weekly check-in

Sunday, July 5, 2015 Permalink

A few new books arrived the other day. I was speaking to my mother later that night, mentioning I’d been to the post office. “Thank God they’re not published until July,” I told her, saying I had an inordinate number of books to read at the moment.

There was a pause… “Oh shit, it’s July already isn’t it?” I asked.

I think I knew it was July. But had forgotten. Temporarily. I’m thinking of patenting the hashtags: #somanybooks #solittle time. Or something.

What I read

It was a pretty good reading week and I really only had one night ‘off’ in order to catch up on my book reviews.

I started the week with The Bones of You, which I enjoyed. Then cameย Little Black Lies by Sharon Bolton, which had been waiting in my iPad reader for so long it had expired twice. It’s received a lot of good reviews and I enjoyed it as well.

First One Missing by Tammy Cohen was next on my agendaโ€”and another enjoyable read.

First one missing book

And although I have THREE other new books which were released this past week, I skipped over a couple and read Karin Slaughter’s Pretty Girls, which was released on 1 July. (Which rumour has it was this week! ๐Ÿ˜‰ )

What I wrote

Lots. Of. Reviews. I asked a question on my Facebook page yesterday, wondering if I was posting too many reviews at the moment. I thought perhaps I should just post some in Goodreads as I was worried I was boring my non-book loving readers.

Speaking of which, myย book-related blog posts included:

The Other Side of the World by Stephanie Bishop – a beautifully written and wistful tale about a family migrating from England to Australia in 1963.

Friday on My Mind by Nicci French – the fifth in the series and another good whodunnit, despite the prickly Dr Frieda Klein.

The Bones of You by Debbie Howells – sad and moving and features the voice of an 18 year old girl who’s been killed.

Little Black Lies by Sharon Bolton – a dark and sinister tale of missing children mostly told amidst a background of grief.

And finally I just posted my review for First One Missingย in Goodreads.

My only non-bookish post was about my consciousness that small sustainable change is often the only way forward. (And yet something I grapple with on the weight-loss front!)

What I did

You may not be surprised to know that I failed to pitch any book reviews to online sites (etc) as planned. I promise I’m going to do it this week.

And possibly today (if I catch up on writing) I’ll be attending a local Mary Poppins Festival in nearby Maryboroughโ€”the birthplace of PL Havers, creator of the much-loved character. It’s an annual event primarily targeted at families and kids. Stacks of people dress up and there are chimney sweep competitions,ย nanny / pram races, footpath painting, arts and crafts and stalls etc.

mary poppins festival Maryborough

What I’m planning to read

Up first is a book I’ve had in my e-reader for a very long time, My Sunshine Away by MO Walsh. And then I’m looking forward to a couple of this past week’s new arrivals: The Melody Lingers On by Mary Higgins Clark; and The Hand That Feeds You by AJ Rich.

book blog

I’ve got a few more due out in the next week, but think I’ll just aim to get to them soon and not over-commit. I’d hate reading to become a chore so want to ensure it remains a passion. (Some of us have so few! ๐Ÿ˜‰ )

What’s on your agenda for the week?

Linking up with Kimberley for The Sunday Post and Sheila for ‘It’s Monday’.

PS… I’ve had issues with my site all (Sunday) morning, so had to temporarily change my theme to post this. (In case you’re wondering why everything looks different!)ย 

82 Comments
  • gargoylebruce
    July 5, 2015

    You’re not alone in incredulity about it being July. I was still thinking it was round about the 28th or so of June yesterday and it was the 4th of a new month. It beggars belief.

  • Daniela
    July 5, 2015

    yup, time flies! Especially when you have a lot to read and write. I didn’t get to write at all last week ๐Ÿ™ and… when I don’t write I start changing the story arc in my mind again ๐Ÿ™
    I hope you get to catch up on your writing and get to pitch some book reviews online sites. The Mary Poppins Festival looks great. Have fun ๐Ÿ™‚

    • Debbish
      July 5, 2015

      I didn’t get to go to the Mary Poppins Festival which was a bummer! I was having second thoughts cos I had to catch up on some writing but then I had my website problems and I couldn’t get onto the site to publish this post which I’d written yesterday!

      I’m not sure why I struggle with time to write as it doesn’t entirely make sense in my not-so-busy life.

  • Katherine @ I Wish I Lived in a Library
    July 5, 2015

    I was just checking my calendar for July book releases and was just wondering how it could possibly be July already! I thought I had all kinds of time to get my July books read. I keep having this dream that one day I’ll be caught up! The Mary Poppins festival looks absolutely amazing. I had no idea they did that. I actually didn’t care for the book all that much but I loved the movie and the idea of the book. This is definitely on my One Day list. Have a great week!

    • Debbish
      July 5, 2015

      Oh yes Maryborough makes a big fuss of the fact it was Pamela Travers’ birthplace. It featured very briefly in Saving Mr Banks apparently – but didn’t actually look much like the place I gather as they didn’t film it locally! I grew up there and had never heard A THING about the Mary Poppins stuff until a decade or so ago.

      PS. I should mention the town is actually named after the Mary River, not the fictional nanny!!! ๐Ÿ˜‰

  • Emma
    July 5, 2015

    Like the sound of First One Missing and the Mary Poppins festival – I love the type of thing. Enjoy if you go. Emma

    • Debbish
      July 5, 2015

      I didn’t make it Emma. I had blog and website issues but a friend who went with her little boy said it was great!!!

  • Kathryn
    July 5, 2015

    Yup! July! Oh that Mary Poppins festival looks fantastic. Yes would hate reading to be a chore rather than a passion. Sometimes my TBR and wish list overwhelms, but I keep reminding myself to be carefully selective in what I pick up. Doesn’t always work though.

    • Debbish
      July 5, 2015

      Oh yes true Kathryn. I need to remember that because I’ve been feeling really overwhelmed lately and need to get some perspective.

      Deb

  • Megan @ reading away the days
    July 5, 2015

    This year has flew in and I can’t keep up with which month it is. It’s a nightmare. The Mary poppins even looks so fun. My sunshine away I have had on my TRL for ages as well I need to get to it.

    Megan @ http://readingawaythedays.blogspot.co.uk

    • Debbish
      July 5, 2015

      It’s expired in my reader a couple of times as well, but I’m finally reading it now and half way through. I’m enjoying it – though didn’t think I wouldn’t. It just kept getting pushed aside cos other books were being published earlier!

  • Celine (@CelineNyx)
    July 5, 2015

    I had this sudden realisation that it’s July and that June is over now as well. The Mary Poppins festival looks lovely!

    As for posting too many reviews – I don’t think there really is a maximum. I would only refrain from posting more than one every day ๐Ÿ˜€

    Have a great week!

    Celine ~ Nyx Book Reviews

    • Debbish
      July 5, 2015

      Yes, I think it’s cos my blog didn’t start off as a book review blog but morphed into one after four or so years. I still see the book blogging as only part of what I do, but it takes up a lot of time so it’s become the major part!!!!

  • Grace @ Rebel Mommy Book Blog
    July 5, 2015

    Oh my a Mary Poppins Fesitval – That was my favorite movie as a kid!! Enjoy!

    • Debbish
      July 5, 2015

      It was a favourite my niece’s as well. She was into it at about 2yrs of age and we have pics of my mum and dad drawing on pavement etc. I recall going to see a ‘Sing-a-long’ version of the movie with her when she was 5 or so. (I did no singing!)

  • Jo
    July 5, 2015

    I’m yet to complete the horoscopes for July- at this rate, it will be August.

    • Debbish
      July 5, 2015

      I hope you’re getting to cut back to your 4 days at work…. It sounds like you’ve been really flat out.

      • Jo
        July 6, 2015

        Sadly no- although I did get one Friday off…does that count? And yes, it’s chaotic.

  • Heather Duff (@hross42)
    July 5, 2015

    The Mary Poppins festival sounds fantastic! I’m looking forward to Little Black Lies, it sounds like a great read.

    Have a fantastic week!

    • Debbish
      July 5, 2015

      Yes… most of the books I’ve read in the last couple of weeks were good. I felt bad just reviewing First One Missing on Goodreads and not also in my blog because it wasn’t as if I didn’t enjoy it. Just too many books and too little blog space. #orsomething

  • Lark @ The Bookwyrm's Hoard
    July 5, 2015

    The Mary Poppins festival looks delightful! I enjoyed the movie about P. L. Travers and the making of the Mary Poppins movie, even though I realize it was heavily fictionalized and not entirely accurate. And I loved the books and the movie musical as a child. (Oh, I’ll come clean – I still love the movie!)

    As for books and reviews, it sounds as though you’re doing great! I understand the “wait – it’s July already?!” reaction, though. We were on vacation for half of June, and I’m still wrapping my head around it being July. #somanybooks #solittletime indeed!

    • Debbish
      July 5, 2015

      I’m glad it’s not just me in denial about the whole July thing. I’m thinking perhaps someone’s stolen some time or something, or sped up all of the clocks and watches in the entire world. I’m sure that’s plausible!

  • Jan @ Notes from a Readerholic
    July 5, 2015

    You got lots done this week! That’s great! I love the idea of a May Poppins festival. My mom read the books to me when I was a child. We both loved them. I love the movie and we also saw the musical on Broadway in NYC a few years ago. That was so much fun, too.

    I hope you have a great week, Deborah!

    • Debbish
      July 5, 2015

      There was actually a local theatre production in Maryborough of Mary Poppins to coincide with the festival and from all accounts it was great. I think it even sold out!

  • fangswandsfairy(alt)
    July 5, 2015

    I learned something new today! I had no idea Mary Havers was from Australia. Since Mary Poppins so very British I never even thought of her not being from England.

    • Debbish
      July 5, 2015

      I googled it, so am now an expert! ๐Ÿ˜‰ She was born in 1899 and moved to England in 1924 (and started writing the first Mary Poppins book in 1933). She lived in Maryborough until she was 5yrs and then moved further inland.

  • Stormi D Johnson
    July 5, 2015

    I know I can hardly believe that it is July! My b-day is next week..I think I am going to wallow in self pity cause it’s a big one..sighs…lol. I want to go to the Mary Poppins festival!! That is my favorite Disney movie!! How cool! You are reading some great looking books as always! ๐Ÿ™‚

    Stormi

    • Debbish
      July 5, 2015

      Yuck! I hate big birthdays but you can breathe a sigh of relief you’re nowhere near as old as me!!! From all accounts the festival today was great. If I remember I’ll include any interesting pics in my post next week!

  • readerbuzz
    July 5, 2015

    Oh my gosh! A Mary Poppins festival? Must add to my Pinterest travel board! Thank you, Debbie.

    Here’s my Sunday Post! Stop by and throw your name in the hat to win a finished hardback of Eight Hundred Grapes and a coffee mug!

  • amyh90
    July 5, 2015

    Hi Deb!

    I know what you mean by the July thing, I did the same! Lol!! Shocking isn’t it!

    Also, Mary Poppins Festival? Sounds fantastic! I wish I could have been there.

    Thank you for visiting my blog,
    Have a great week,
    Amy x

  • laurelrainsnow
    July 5, 2015

    I also loved The Bones of You and I’m eager to get Friday on My Mind. Love that series! Even though Frieda is prickly and her own worst enemy…LOL.

    Enjoy your books…I also want the MHC book…..

    Thanks for sharing…and for visiting my blog.

    • Debbish
      July 6, 2015

      Am looking forward to the MHC. It’s next on my list!

  • Greg
    July 5, 2015

    I too can hardly believe it’s July. Was watching fireworks last night and thinking “We’re here again- already?”. LOL. The Other Side of the World sounds good- I’ve always found the idea of English moving to Australia interesting, to start a new life. Sounds like a nice read.

    Nice post on sustainability, too. I’ve had similar experiences- have tried eating better, healthier foods and avoiding processed, etc- but have learned to pace myself and take it slow, rather than try to do everything at once. Some good thoughts there- and blogging tips too.

    • Debbish
      July 6, 2015

      Thanks Greg and well done on being able to stick to those smaller sustainable changes. It’s something I really need to work on!

  • Harvee
    July 6, 2015

    Time to pick up Nicci French again. You books look excellent!

    • Debbish
      July 6, 2015

      I enjoyed this latest Nicci French more than the others in the series Harvee. And thanks, they do look good, don’t they!?

  • Mandy Sickle
    July 6, 2015

    Sounds like you a productive week. I love the reviews but that’s because I’m a book nut. I’m so jealous you have a Mary Poppins Festival that is so cool. While it may not have been as productive as you like I think you did great. Have a great week. My Sunday Post

    • Debbish
      July 6, 2015

      Oh yes, I certainly caught up on my reviewing which was good. I’m great when I have a deadline and many of the books I’ve been reading (or reviewing) lately have been published in the last week or two… so there was no choice!

  • Rita @ My Home of Books
    July 6, 2015

    I went back and read your sustainability post which I missed first time around. I agree with you, and yet I see myself making those same mistakes over and over. I get enthusiastic about some project/hobby/etc and then when I can’t do it as well or often as I like, I get frustrated…fast. Then quit. I’m aware of this problem I have but it’s hard to change. I have deleted two previous book blogs, yes deleted because I wanted to keep my email address but couldn’t suitably stop all the emails I was getting to it. Now I have a blog, simple unassuming little blog with not even half the followers of my previous ones, but I will keep plugging away and leave it be when I get frustrated. I did take a small break this week and it allowed me to catch up on reading and fixing my blog format. Sometimes we need to not beat ourselves up and just learn acceptance. I’m trying ๐Ÿ™‚

    • Debbish
      July 6, 2015

      Ah yes Rita, I can completely relate – obviously. It sounds as if you’re on the right track though!

  • katarguelles
    July 6, 2015

    I’ve been behind on posting my book reviews so I know how you feel about overwhelming readers with the same posts. But I like reading reviews so I try to space them out during the week and include a blitz or another post. The Mary Poppins Festival looks like so much fun. I love the pictures and I hope you had a great time. Have a great week!

    • Debbish
      July 6, 2015

      I didn’t go to the festival in the end… as I had some website issues. I ‘thought’ they were resolved but it looks as if I’m having the same problem today. Grrrrr….

  • La La in the Library
    July 6, 2015

    A MARY POPPINS FESTIVAL?! I didn’t know. I am definitely putting that on my travels list. The Hand That Feeds You novel looks intriguing. Have a fab week. ๐Ÿ™‚

    • Debbish
      July 6, 2015

      Oh yes, am looking forward to this week’s reads!

  • Lola
    July 6, 2015

    I often check my calendar for my Lola’s Blog Tours business, so i usually have a good idea which day and month it is. Else I probably would forget as well. I have been reading a lot of non-review books lately, so I am feeling the pressure to get some review books read soon. First One Missing looks creepy! I hope you have a great week with good books!

    • Debbish
      July 6, 2015

      I’m only reading review books at the moment Lola. There are a few I’ve missed out on over the past two years since I started reviewing so I really should get to the library at some point to catch up!

  • viki
    July 6, 2015

    The Mary Higgins Clark book looks good. It has been a while since I have read her.

    • Debbish
      July 6, 2015

      I was a huge fan once. I read her recent collaboration with Alafair Burke and quite enjoyed that…. as I like AB as well!

  • yvonne473
    July 6, 2015

    You’ve been busy. The Mary Higgins Clark book looks good. It’s been so long since I read one of her books.

    I love the Mary Poppins Festival. That sounds like so much fun.

    Have a great week!

    • Debbish
      July 6, 2015

      I used to love MHC books… probably a bit less so recently.

  • Jen G. (The Introverted Reader)
    July 6, 2015

    The Mary Poppins Festival looks like loads of fun! Enjoy!

    • Debbish
      July 6, 2015

      Sadly I had some website issues so didn’t get to go in the end. But it was a good day apparently!

  • Teddyree
    July 6, 2015

    I don’t know where June went?? and since I had a week off from blogging to rest I’m seriously behind with book reviews. I think I’m chasing my tail, it’s all a little overwhelming. You’d think with almost 7 years of book blogging I’d learn lol. I haven’t heard of the Mary Poppins festival til now, it looks like fun, must tell my dad about it.
    Have a great week Deb and happy reading ๐Ÿ™‚

    • Debbish
      July 6, 2015

      Seven years Teddyree – very impressive!! It sounds like you probably needed the break though!

  • Tracy (@Cornerfolds)
    July 6, 2015

    Oh wow!! That Mary Poppins festival looks amazing! I didn’t know that existed! ๐Ÿ˜€ I hope your next reading week is as great as your last! ๐Ÿ™‚

    • Debbish
      July 6, 2015

      Thanks Tracy. It’s started well! Am halfway through My Sunshine Away and enjoying it!

  • RAnn
    July 6, 2015

    i have my ups and downs; lately I haven’t been reviewing as many books. I wouldn’t worry about doing too many reviews unless you really don’t think of yourself as a book blogger. Just remember it is a hobby and is supposed to be fun.

    • Debbish
      July 6, 2015

      I suspect I’m conscious that I’ve still got readers left over from the days I had a diet blog (Diet Schmiet) and merged it into this one. I don’t only blog about books here, but lately…. well… there have been a stack!

  • Jess
    July 6, 2015

    I swear I still think it is May and keep writing 2014. Sounds busy, but you are a reading champion! I hope you do get a break the Mary Poppins thing sounds interesting!

    • Debbish
      July 6, 2015

      I did the July thing again today… I saw something dated August and wondered why they weren’t doing it in July! (Cos it already IS July!!!)

  • CARLA
    July 6, 2015

    OH I CANNNOT WAIT TO HEAR ABOUT THE ‘POPPINS FESTIVAL!!!!!

    • Debbish
      July 6, 2015

      I didn’t end up going Carla…. I had blog issues – though I had been feeling a bit apathetic anyway. The idea of crowds etc just felt a bit too much. Even before my site kinda broke!

  • Lexxie @ (un)Conventional Bookviews
    July 6, 2015

    The Mary Poppins festival sounds like a lot of fun, Deborah! I hope you’ll share pictures with us ๐Ÿ™‚

    July has definitely arrived very quickly, and rather quietly, and somehow, half the year is over already. I have no idea at all how that happened.

    Good luck pitching your reviews to online sites! Have a fantastic week and happy reading.

    • Debbish
      July 6, 2015

      Thanks Lexxie. The mini-reviews I plan to pitch are on my agenda for tomorrow. I did submit an interview piece I did somewhere today, but…. I’m not getting my hopes up.

      I didn’t get to the Mary Poppins festival but will definitely share some photos next week.

  • Nise' (Under the Boardwalk)
    July 7, 2015

    I would love to attend the Mary Poppins festival. I can’t believe July has arrived just yesterday it was January! I am feeling a bit rushed to get my August reading commitments done before I leave for a three week vacation at the end of July.

    • Debbish
      July 7, 2015

      I was horrified to receive an October reading list the other day Nise! Argh!

  • Angelized1st
    July 7, 2015

    A Mary Poppins festival? That’s so neat! Love your photos!

  • Lillian @ Mom With a Reading Problem
    July 7, 2015

    Oh my gosh!!! Mary Poppins festival?! That looks amazing. I would love to attend that! One of my all time favorite books and movie ๐Ÿ˜€ Did you get to go? If so I hope you enjoyed it!

    • Debbish
      July 7, 2015

      I didn’t go but I’ll share some pictures next week Lillian!

  • divabooknerd
    July 7, 2015

    MARY POPPINS! Ohhh, I wanna go! Why can’t they have that in other states as well, I could dress up as a chimney sweep, I’ll even practice the accent. I feel your pain Deb, I feel like I’m stacked to the rafters with review copies at the moment, all unsolicited too. i can’t request anything any more, or I end up so overwhelmed by needing to read them all. I’m hoping this weekend to do the same, and take a day to get myself sorted. We should go halvies in a PR assistant Deb ๐Ÿ˜€

    • Debbish
      July 7, 2015

      Ha, if only!!! I need to earn an income before I can employ anyone! ๐Ÿ™‚

  • Vlora
    July 8, 2015

    I read what you said about July and I didn’t even notice the flaw in your logic. THE YEAR IS GOING SO FAST. Plans for this week are: stay alive in the heat, make another video, attend a wedding party and try to be productive somehow. Have a good week!

    • Debbish
      July 8, 2015

      It’s winter here though quite moderate where I live…. and I much prefer winter to summer, so I do feel for you!

  • Michelle @ In Libris Veritas
    July 8, 2015

    That Mary Poppins festival looks like a ton of fun!! I know what you mean about it being July already…I kept forgetting about it last week. I want the year to slow down a bit, I feel like I haven’t accomplished everything I need to before the year ends lol!

    • Debbish
      July 8, 2015

      Oh yes Michelle, soon it will be December and I’ll be thinking it’s August!

  • A Voracious Reader
    July 8, 2015

    I can’t believe it’s July already! I look at my calendar, see that it’s July and *still* think I’m in June. lol Have a great week!

    • Debbish
      July 8, 2015

      I know! This month has been worse than others… not sure why!

I'd love to hear your thoughts